Print Share RSS

Confectionery Leadership Awards

 CLA 2013 logo customer leadership

 NCA's Confectionery Leadership Awards - 2013 winners announced!

Customer support of the confectionery industry is the lifeblood of your company's success. Beyond support, there are some customers that stand out among the rest by exhibiting innnovative thought leadership around category promotion as well as a natural ability to recognize the true profit potential of confectionery products. NCA offers the Confectionery Leadership Awards as a vehicle to honor and call out top customers on an industry-wide level.

NCA has announced the recipients of the 2013 Confectionery Leadership Awards. The awards celebrate contributions to the category by recipients through their effective business collaboration, category management best practices, and innovations in merchandising confectionery products in-store.

The following individuals were nominated by NCA members for their creativity and innovative thinking, and exceeded the award criteria:

  • Julia Bischoff, senior category manager at Smart & Final.
  • Kimberley Felice-Dooley, senior category manager at CVS Caremark Corp.
  • AJ Jesswani, category merchant - candy and commercial bakery at Meijer, Inc.

"This award program was designed to acknowledge those trade customers who serve as role models for other retailers and wholesalers," says NCA President Larry Graham. "It recognizes individuals who use their experience to encourage visionary thinking and to drive the entire confectionery category forward."

NCA, in collaboration with Candy & Snack TODAY magazine, create the awards program in 2011 to recognize and honor the confectionery industry's best and most innovative category champions and leaders. The program allows NCA manufacturers and brokers to recognize these outstanding retailers and wholesalers in the confectionery community for their effective customer marketing, shopper-driven shelving practices, and promotion of new items.

Bischoff, Felice-Dooley and Jesswani will be presented with their awards on February 25, 2013 in Miami at NCA's annual State of the Industry Conference.

Past Customer Leadership Awards Recipients: 

Rebecca Fries - U.S. Marine Corps Exchange
Bill Walker – McLane Co., Inc.
Tim Tackett – Giant Eagle, Inc.

Paul Minger – Walgreens
John Scardina – Eby-Brown Company
Val Stansfield – Rite Aid Corporation