Confectionery Leadership Award

Customer support of the confectionery industry is the lifeblood of your company’s success.

There are some customers that go above and beyond this support to stand out among the rest by exhibiting innovative thought leadership around category promotion as well as a natural ability to recognize the true potential of confectionery products. NCA offers the Confectionery Leadership Award as a vehicle to honor and call out top customers on an industry-wide level for their effective business collaboration, category management best practices and innovations in merchandising confectionery products in-store.
Recipients of this award must exemplify several of the following criteria:

  • Demonstrate consistent leadership and drive breakthrough thinking
  • Leverage their experience to continually advance the entire category in multiple ways
  • Elevate the role of confectionery to a higher level in the retail environment
  • Deliver category growth while leveraging the overall retail potential of confectionery
  • Drive best practices through category promotion, innovative merchandising and manufacturer collaboration
  • Exhibit strong potential for continued growth
  • Act as a role model for other retailers/wholesalers

These prestigious awards will be presented during NCA’s State of the Industry Conference in Boca Raton.

More than just an award
Confectionery Leadership Award honorees will be promoted year-round by NCA, including feature stories in Candy & Snack TODAY magazine. Award recipients will also participate in the taste panel at the Sweets & Snacks Expo’s Most Innovative New Product Awards.

NCA, in collaboration with Candy & Snack TODAY magazine, created the awards program in 2011 to recognize and honor the confectionery industry’s best and most innovative category champions and leaders. The program allows NCA manufacturers and brokers to recognize these outstanding retailers and wholesalers in the confectionery community for their effective customer marketing, shopper-driven shelving practices, and promotion of new items.

Past Recipients:


Krisanne Flamini, Wawa, Inc.
Barry Phillips, SpartanNash


Christina M. Groth, The Kroger Company
Brian Rinker, Walgreen Co.


Julie Bierman, Army & Air Force Exchange Service
Jennifer Dilts, Dollar General Corp.


Mike Maslen, Hudson Group
Dave Schulze, H-E-B


Jamal Parker, Sr. Buyer  Candy & Snacks, Sam’s Club
Tim Erceg, Purchasing Specialist, Hy-Vee


Julia Bischoff, Smart & Final
Kimberley Felice-Dooley, CVS Caremark Corp.
AJ Jesswani, Meijer, Inc.


Paul Minger, Walgreens
John Scardina, Eby-Brown Company
Val Stansfield, Rite Aid Corporation


Rebecca Fries, U.S. Marine Corps Exchange
Bill Walker, McLane Co., Inc.
Tim Tackett, Giant Eagle, Inc.

Nominate your top customer today!